TTORA Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all, this is Wheelie_Pete (same as the other boards)

Sold my '85 Rock buggy Project Blu which you may have seen on the boards (see avatar) and bought a 2001 Tacoma SR5 V6 Ex-Cab. (Finally got fed up with no AC and anemic 4cyl) :rolleyes: Got a smokin' deal on the truck, but it has auto trans, no biggie, at least the wife can drive this one.

Any way, good to be here.

Couple questions:

Stupid automatic hubs on this truck, this is the ADD, correct? Any other options besides Downey for a locking hub conversion? (I don't have time to go to the boneyard and piece it together so complete conversions are what I'm looking for.)

Does Aussie make a locker for the 2001 Tacoma V6 rear?

Since I'm new to automatic transmissions, can I get a 1" body lift for this truck? (Need to bend up and weld on some sliders) If I can get a 1" BL, how much of a headache is the linkage for the auto going to be.

Any way, I sold this buggy, then bought the Taco. (Just got to the point where I needed a good daily driver that I could also do some mild wheeling. I've pretty much got the hard-core wheeling out of my system after a lot of years of hard wrenching and wheeling. Now I just want to build a mild, yet capable wheeler.)

Attachments

·
Registered
207 Posts
good to have ya. I followed your build on blu over on pirate. It was a sweet truck

·
Registered
2,509 Posts
this folder is more for welcoming. If you want answers to those questions, post them in the folder below this one called the Newbie Tech. I promise you if you use the search button, you will find the answers to those questions.

·
Registered
2,509 Posts
ps, do you mind saying how much you got the truck for w/ how much mileage?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
No prob,