TTORA Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
352 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok... I have been wheeling my truck for about 2 1/2 months now almost every weekend at Spring Creek... it is mostly mud and sand with trees everywhere down the side of the trails. I have only been stuck once, despite A/T's and open diff's. That being said, I am stuck between three choices for my first mod. Either a Powertrax No-Slip Locker, Sliders, or 265/70R16 Super Swamper SSR's.

Now I have already got one VERY small dent in my rocker panel from using momentum to get up a washout which cost me a small minor dent... but at the same time, I think if I would have had a locker, I would not have needed the momentum and would have avoided the dent...

Also, what will give me more of a traction advantage... going from BFG A/T's to Super Swamper SSR's, or keeping the BFG A/T's for now, and getting the Powertrax No-Slip?

Or should I just get the sliders and use momentum till I save up more money for the other mods? See my dilemma?

·
Registered
102 Posts
I vote locker, because even if you have traction, and only one wheel pulling, the traction won't do you all that bit of good.
Why not get locker, and sliders. sliders aren't that much.

·
Registered
1,510 Posts
ive got the powertraxx no slip and i recommend that first. sliders are cheap so them second or just build them, and if you cant do it yourself try to find a friend. locker all the way

·
Registered
415 Posts
deff lock it up first. Then sliders then do your lift and rubber all in one big shot. No use spendin money on some 265s now when in a few months you will want to lift it and go with 285s.

·
Registered
532 Posts
i had the locker stock and i still got dents before getting sliders. with a locker, you are just going to get yourself in even more dent causing situations. i say either get both at the same time, locker and sliders, or get sliders first.