TTORA Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
415 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want to be able to use my fog lights with the truck off and figured this would be the easiest way to wire them.

They are piaa 510 35w and run at 3 amps each x4 = 12 amp

My stereo is a single amp running at 42 amps

The fuse for my stereo is rated at 100 amps

Im no electrician but I think this will work? I shouldnt blow the fuse and the lights will work anytime?

here is a diagram i made

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/855/deanwillthiswork.png/

·
STITCH - Come and Take it!
9,051 Posts
It would work but at a decrease in performance, due to you have your lights running in parallel with stereo. I am not an electrician, but I have done my share fare of good and bad installs on my vehicles... over the decades. :)

There are reasons why when you see stereo installers make custom aftermarket systems, everything has a dedicated fuse and power-source off the main.
The good ones know electronics and know how to calculate the resistance, power, wire size, to ensure each component get's the max performance the maker wants it to do.

Plus the switch can it take the wattage that is going to power all 4 lights....if not, you will be having one hot switch and most likely a fire.
Another reason companies supply two lights for every one switch (most of the time).
One last note, how good is your battery and how big is your stereo system.
With your setup, you may want to consider dual battery system

If I was you, I would spend the time to use an aftermarket power/fuse box that will handle what you are asking your electrical system to do.
Look at Blue Sea or Bussman for the fuses.
The one I use is the simple Bussman for the fuses, currently not covered from the elements and mounted on my firewall in the engine compartment.
Power is all individual off the battery, I have spider web of wires off the positive post..... I plan to have a power bar to clean up the underside.