TTORA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
I installed the SC on my 3.4 V6 and do experience pinging under high gear/ low rpm conditions. Although given the extra power I don't think I could drive a normally aspirated tacoma ever again.

·
Registered
24 Posts
RItaco said:
I installed the SC on my 3.4 V6 and do experience pinging under high gear/ low rpm conditions. Although given the extra power I don't think I could drive a normally aspirated tacoma ever again.

If it is a TRD, do they do any work on the computer. You would think that it would be needed. I am new to tacos but I would bet there is still a knock sensor and the factory computer (DME?) has a routine for handling knock. With the addition of the SC this would likely need to be modified (range?). Also, does this only occur with regular, or does 91 or 93 octanes eliminate it?

Not knowing exactly what TRD installs, I think you need more than just slapping the SC on, if that is what they do... It needs to be integrated to the engine and its controls, not just bolted on.

·
Registered
23 Posts
dsumners said:
If it is a TRD, do they do any work on the computer. You would think that it would be needed. I am new to tacos but I would bet there is still a knock sensor and the factory computer (DME?) has a routine for handling knock. With the addition of the SC this would likely need to be modified (range?). Also, does this only occur with regular, or does 91 or 93 octanes eliminate it?

Not knowing exactly what TRD installs, I think you need more than just slapping the SC on, if that is what they do... It needs to be integrated to the engine and its controls, not just bolted on.
Yes I installed the TRD SC which I purchased on ebay actually. You best best is to download the installation manual if you considering the trd SC.

http://www.trdusa.com/InstallManuals.asp