TTORA Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
492 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a kenwood in car navigation system and wanted to understand how to use it when I'm offroading in Barstow. I can't upload maps of the offroad trails so all I see is a green background when on the dirt. I also don't have a flag feature where i could drop flags every so many miles and then back track. I could just use it as a map and just head to the direction i want but it doesn't help me decide which road to take if the road splits. I can get Longitude and Latitude readings but I have no idea how that works (even though i'm an engineer). So how do you guys use you're nav?

·
Registered
77 Posts
off road, the most two common features are dropping a "breadcrumb" trail so you can get back, the second is map feature so you can "see" where you are or need to be. The good ones automatically create the breadcrumb trail when in an off road mode.

Play around with it and you will find it very useful.

Hope this helps,

·
Registered
2,126 Posts
Yup i have the eclipse 5500. It doesnt leave a breadcrumb trail at all....my nav shows all black when im in the dirt. I know that the Pioneer z1 shows a trail, but whatevr

Im planning to get a Lowrance anyways. Look into that Ray, they are sooo bad ass!

You can d/l maps and race course notes from other drivers. IE. If youre prerunning on a course and you have d/l'ed notes from another driver the navi will actually say "slow down, big turn ahead" or "big jump" hahaha thats pretty cool!

·
Going John Galt
31,839 Posts
SCEXPLORER said: