TTORA Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since I'm totally new to this concept, I was under the impression that rack and pinion was weak for offroading. Is that true?

Mine is an 07 Tacoma btw.

·
Registered
395 Posts
Well, they do wear out and clunk a bit, but they seem to do all right. I've seen them bend an amazing amount and not break.

·
Administrator
95.5 Tacoma
18,585 Posts
Ozark-Taco said:
Since I'm totally new to this concept, I was under the impression that rack and pinion was weak for offroading. Is that true?

Mine is an 07 Tacoma btw.
For the stock trucks, the R&P works just fine. When you start lifting the truck and running bigger tires, the R&P starts to show its weaknesses. The inner tie-rod ends are a poor design, so they usually wear out quickly. The rack is pretty strong, but the guides and seals do wear, and bigger tires dont help. My stock rack lasted 250k miles before I decided to replace it. The seals and guides were done. The rack still functioned, but leaked and had too much play.

Trouble is that there is no upgrade to the rack, short of doing a SAS (solid axle swap) and running an older style steering box with crossover steering.

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
That's kind of what I thought. I had the same problem in my Nissan Frontier, weak stock stearing with idler arm, centerlink, etc.

The more I learn about my new Toyota, the more I regret getting it. It will be nothing more than a daily driver with AT's. I refuse to invest $2,000 just to put on an ARB for my existing winch. I'm not one to beat up a $30,000 truck for the fun of it.

I'll buy an old solid axle beater wheeler with the $2,000 and not look back. The upgrades would be far cheaper on it vs. a new truck.