TTORA Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
531 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been collecting parts, tools, etc. for the trail to hopefully anticipate most of the problems that can occur out there. (I know it's not possible to be ready for everything, but the more prepared the better) . . .

Anyhow, one thing I was wondering about is what to do if the battery or alternator dies?

I already have one of those portable battery jump start units. (I have an automatic tranny so I can't jump it by pushing it and dropping the clutch.). . .

But I'm wondering what would be done if if the alternator is gone. The truck won't stay running. Then what? . . .

·
Premium Member
1,898 Posts
spare alternator. Or spare parts to fix an alternator.

Edit: I'm thinking if you stay out of the mud, chances are your alternator isn't just gonna die, so stay out of the mud as much as possible. When I was a newb and liked the mud, I filled the alternator with mud, banged on it (broke a chunk of the casing off--ooops, too hard), got some of the mud loose, got me close to home, but ended up calling my buddy to pick me up with the rollback. Lesson learned....FUCK mud.

--Scott

·
Registered
5,467 Posts
If the alternator dies you can still run the truck. Turn off all accessories and try to stay light on the throttle. Eventually, the battery will drain but you should have enough time to get off the trail. In the event that you don't make it to the end of the trail, simply swap your battery for a friend's. While you are using his freshly charged battery, your dead battery will be recharging in his truck.

In the event that your battery dies, you can actually still run the truck as it will be powered by the alternator. You could actually even run the truck with the battery completely disconnected. While this isn't recommended as it ads considerable stress on the alternator, it will power the truck.

·
Registered
892 Posts