TTORA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie with a question. I wasn't to sure what topic to post, so forgive me if this is the wrong place.

I have an 01' doublecab with the orginial battery(AC/Delco) when I bought the truck new. I've been noticing the last week or so that it's not as strong sounding as it use to be.

I have been searching the internet for the best battery, and have found all kinds of good, bad, and the ugly.

I used your search feature here and see that some of you here like Optima and Odessey, but they don't seem to have as many CA's and CCA's as some I have found. For instance, the Duralast Gold 24F has 935 CA's -850CCA's, but the Odessey 1200MJT has 1200 CA's but only 550CCA's. If they are that good, I don't mind paying top dollar. I have never personally known anyone that has used one of these batteries. So tell me about these brands if you know anything about them.

I've heard good things about the Autozone Duralast Gold, Intersate Mega-Trons, and some Excides. Diehards are like most Sears products and appears to be hit or miss nowadays.

I don't offroad, but I might.... I stress might again. I used to years ago when I was a teenager up to about when I turned 22 or so(about the time I met my wife) and I would rather buy something that gives me the option to do so, without have to upgrade later. Like I said, I don't mind paying good money for top quailty.

·
Registered
15,034 Posts
Reserve capacity (rated in minutes) is more important than CCA in our applications. Odyssey batteries are AWESOME, but spendy. In my experience, Optima Red tops haven't been much better than "normal" batteries, just more expensive. (I haven't owned a yellow top) Others have had much better luck with them.