TTORA Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have an 01' pre-runner V6 with aprox 52k on it and I have noticed a squeeling here in the past few days. I had my 30k service at around 45k and remember them saying the breaks were in good shape to my suprise. About how many miles should you get out of the factory brake pads???

I can't tell if the sqeelling is from the brakes telling me they are worn or if its comming from the engine bay. It seems to stop when I'm standing still running at idle but, as soon as I start to move it starts again... I'm no mechanic but, I can usually tell when it's the breakes. Any ideas? Should I just replace the brake pads and see if it stops the noise?

Thanks,

Jason

·
Registered
565 Posts
Take a tire off and look at the pads. If you see the wear indicator is making the noise. However it should only make the noise when you apply the brakes, not all the time, and not when standing still.

Other things that that can squeel on vehicles, is the power steering pump, any of the belts.... Open the hood and listen.....

·
Registered
48 Posts
"
txtaco1 said:
I have an 01' pre-runner V6 with aprox 52k on it and I have noticed a squeeling here in the past few days. I had my 30k service at around 45k and remember them saying the breaks were in good shape to my suprise. About how many miles should you get out of the factory brake pads???"

>The brakes pads on my tacoma has over 90,000 miles on it. It's still in good shape...it should last another 30,000 or more. Sorry I can't help on the noise problem.

·
Premium Member
373 Posts
If it is the rears that are doing it, it may be brake dust in the drums. You might get away with just hitting them good with an air hose or pull the drums and clean out the dust.

·
Registered
2,478 Posts
It's not your breaks. CHECK YOUR _BRAKES !!! BEFORE THEY _BREAK!!

·
Going John Galt
31,839 Posts
txtaco1 said: