TTORA Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
117 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am new to the fabrication scene, I have been welding for several years, with mig and flux (but only on little stuff, no real fabrication), but am looking to get a decent plasma cutter to learn with, but am on a very limited budget. I have been using oxy-acetaline to cut, but want to be able to mkae some more precise cuts. Anyway, I was looking on ebay and wondered if this cutter is worth the price, they seem to be going for about 300-350 at auction close. Is it worth it, to practice with, or should I jsut save my nickel and dimes until I can afford a better one? I wont be using it for anything other than frame on our yotas, and some bumper fab type stuff in my spare time.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dl...MEWA:IT&viewitem=&item=110125981547&rd=1&rd=1

here is the item number of one of them in case the link doesnt work

·
Registered
3,394 Posts
I am new to the fabrication scene, I have been welding for several years, with mig and flux (but only on little stuff, no real fabrication), but am looking to get a decent plasma cutter to learn with, but am on a very limited budget. I have been using oxy-acetaline to cut, but want to be able to mkae some more precise cuts. Anyway, I was looking on ebay and wondered if this cutter is worth the price, they seem to be going for about 300-350 at auction close. Is it worth it, to practice with, or should I jsut save my nickel and dimes until I can afford a better one? I wont be using it for anything other than frame on our yotas, and some bumper fab type stuff in my spare time.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dl...MEWA:IT&viewitem=&item=110125981547&rd=1&rd=1

here is the item number of one of them in case the link doesnt work
i would save some $$ till you can afford a better one..
that looks like some kind of harbor freight chinese junk
go for something name brand so if it breaks you can find parts to fix it..

·
Registered