TTORA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
to drain the oil out of my '07 tacoma i unscrew that plug that is on the bottom of the black piece of the engine that is connected to the main part of the engine right? it's my first time changing the oil on my new truck and i just want to be sure.

·
Registered
883 Posts
I believe your gonna get flamed for this, I would post this in newbie next time.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
it's a question, if they don't like it then just move on to the next thread, i'm not worried about someone insulting me on the internet, just trying to work on my truck.

·
Registered
2,364 Posts
I am assuming that you have the V6. The plug you are referring to is the oil pan drain plug. Yes, it is located on that black thing under the truck (oil pan). I believe it is a 14MM hex. The oil filter is located on the top side of the engine, drivers side. It will leak into the small recess that surrounds it when you unscrew it. Keep shop rags handy to clean the mess. The engine oil change is 5.5 qts including the filter.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
thanks bro, i let it drain for like a half an hour so by the time i took off the filter it was bone dry, no spilage at all. i switched over to amsoil and i'm stoked about it, i would take it out for a cruise but the weather is to nice here in va so when i go i do it on my bike.

·
Registered
2,364 Posts
You're welcome. Glad it worked out for you.

·
Registered
232 Posts
how many km/miles between changes are you doing and how many km/miles on it now?

·
Registered
2,544 Posts
it's a question, if they don't like it then just move on to the next thread, i'm not worried about someone insulting me on the internet, just trying to work on my truck.