TTORA Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since I am new to Toyotas I am sure I will be asking some basic questions. Anyways, my brother in law has the same year toyota as me with the same engine. He has had the check engine light in his truck on since installing a K&N air filter. He told me that the 3.4 o2 sensor gets clogged up from the filter oil and causes the check engine light to come on. Wondering if anyone else has this problem? I have put K&N's in all my trucks and have never had a problem. Thanks

·
Registered
854 Posts
I'd say the problem is over-oiling. People have a tendency to do that as most think more oil means better performance out of the filter...not so. Clean it real good, get all of the gunk out from the wiring, soak it in the solution in the recharger kit, then spray a layer of oil on the filter. If you over-oil the filter, some of the oil can drip off the filter and make even get sucked in through the intake tube cause the MAF sensor to activate the CE light. Never had this problem with mine, but I'm thinking this may be the problem.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I am not worried about his that much since he knows the problem. I figured that over oiling could be the problem. I am going to go a head and get one for my truck since I have never had a problem with them in the past.

·
Registered
60 Posts
Did you read the above posts? Your brother doesn't know the problem. The problem is oil on the MAF. Not oil on the O2 sensor. Driving with the CEL on is not a good idea, you could have another issue and do serious damage to your engine, but you already know that.

·
Registered
115 Posts