TTORA Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I hate to beat a dead horse. I have seriously read the other threads and cannot find the information i'm looking for. I am looking for a lift for my 06 tacoma acess cab 4x4 trd off road. I do not mind spending 1600 for the lift alone, but i cannot determine what i want. I am looking for something that maintains great on-road ride and tracking, but also increases my off road capabilities. I do not do a lot of HARD trail riding, but it would be nice to clear some bigger stuff than i have, while maintaining front IFS. The most important thing to me, is quality. Originally i wanted to do a fabtech 6" with 35's, but i have heard the balljoints and wheel bearings may suffer. I want it to be a good mix of mall cruiser and off road machine. I am very new to the off-road scene, but i have an extensive automotive experience, so please be a little more specific on acronyms and what not. I appreciate any advice in this matter.

·
Registered
1,102 Posts
Welcome... the thing with the fabtech lift is you will be cutting your crossmember to install the drop down bracket. IMO, go with either the Toytec/OME lift or even better Hoes/Camburgs with new springs for the back. You honestly do not need 35s either. I would step up to a 32" and do either of the lifts I mentioned. :2cents:

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I went to an off-road shop in phoenix and they were telling me to get a 3 inch coil over system, add a leaf and total chaos upper control arms. Can anyone comment to the performance of this type of set up?

·
Registered
1,726 Posts
pappasmurf said:
I went to an off-road shop in phoenix and they were telling me to get a 3 inch coil over system, add a leaf and total chaos upper control arms. Can anyone comment to the performance of this type of set up?