TTORA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 135 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i just bought an 03 tacoma prerunner and im pretty new to off roading wondering if you guys had any tips for mudding in a 2wd

·
Registered
3,900 Posts
first of all dont double post, but you will never do nearly as well as a 4x4 even if you are locked in the rear. just get out there and have fun. take a buddy thats 4x4 and go yet stuck to see how far you can really go. remember it all depense on the type of mud on how youll do.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thats my bad on the double post this my first time using the site. im thinking about purchasing some bfg mud terrains right now i just have some worn down all terrains i m hoping that will help me get some more traction

·
Registered
616 Posts
mud can be bad, does no good for the truck. never the less, make sure you have good dependable recovery gear and DO NOT GO ALONE. if your in a mud pit and start to bog down and aren't going anywhere dont push it or you will just bury yourself deeper and deeper. but like said above, there are many different types of mud.

·
Registered
710 Posts
Tips for muddin' in a 2wd

Tip #1: Stay out of the mud.
Tip #2: Paddle tires and super-charger.
Tip #3: Bring a spare starter and/or alternator.
:p

In all seriousness though, good recovery equipment, locker, tall skinny tires, and lots of skinny pedal.

·
Registered
317 Posts
i thought for mudding you want a wide tire for more surface area rather than a tall skinny tire for regular offroading. why would you want something that doesnt have ample contact with the "ground" making it in a way float over rather than dig in?

and you might want to do a rear differential breather mod so you dont get any water and mud in the 3rd member, bad times

·
Registered
710 Posts
x2 on the diff breather extension