TTORA Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
487 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
alright as most of you know im a newbie to the off road scene and Ive been searching around and my rear shocks are not long enough to allow more flex. i have around 11" i can go to and right now my shocks limit me to 8" extended length. i looked at rancho and bilstein but cannot find what im looking for does anyone know what brand and model shocks will allow me to have more flex out of my coil rear

·
Registered
273 Posts
take the shocks off the axle, and flex the tires all the way up, use a tape measure and check the compressed and extended lengths, then go from there looking for what length shock you n eed

·
Registered
1,798 Posts
It will take some adapting (drilling and fasteners and such), but you can try FJ80 shocks.

$38 bucks each for PN 911184 (Monroe Reflex, no, I'm not kidding, Monroe) from Rock Auto.

·
Registered
487 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
take the shocks off the axle, and flex the tires all the way up, use a tape measure and check the compressed and extended lengths, then go from there looking for what length shock you n eed
ya ive already done that. im just seeing if anyone on here has gotten longer shocks to help the rear flex more on a 2nd gen 4runner. if so i would love to know what shocks you used and before and after shots

·
Registered
438 Posts
I had a 2 gen runner like yours with a 4" DB lift. I just used pro comp shocks (ES9000) that came with the lift, and that was plenty of flex out the rear.

At some point you can have too much flex in the rear, considering you have just a few inches in the front. The imbalance will do more bad then good. Considering the truck is so top heavy. Ask me how I know... take the sway bars off and throw them away, and start saving for a SAS.

·
Registered
487 Posts
Discussion Starter #6