TTORA Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys. I'm a little new to the whole truck thing, but my friends all have done up trucks. I have a 03 Taco Dcab 4x4 v6 and i wanna lift it to 3" to 4" on 33's. I've been researching alot and this is what i've come up with. If you guys have any suggestions/comments, be my guest. Help me out :)

So far, i'm looking at

Pro-Comp 4" lift kit or Donahoe 3" lift (coilovers) or Fabtech 3.5" lift (coilovers)
Rear's will be done with either a Deaver progressive AAL or a leaf pack and Bilstein 5100's
16x8 MT Classic II's on 33x11.5 Toyo's

NO body lifts here. Am i missing anything else?

Any input is greatly appreciated. I just wanna learn and do my taco right the first time. I will be off-roading it every month or so, mainly Azusa, like mud and small off-road terrain, nothing like rock/wall climbing.

Thanks!

·
Registered
15 Posts
Keep in mind you'll most likely need to re-gear if you want to run 33's, and you will probably still have some rubbing issues even with the lift. That's why most people who aren't building dedicated trail rigs stick to 32's...IMHO. All depends on how much you want to spend I guess.

-chris

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Well the regearing issue, i've read and most people have mixed opinions. some say you have to, some say you can get away without it. I might regear to a 4.56. Is that the right regear??

·
Registered
1,001 Posts
chyknees said:
Well the regearing issue, i've read and most people have mixed opinions. some say you have to, some say you can get away without it. I might regear to a 4.56. Is that the right regear??
You can get away with the gears you have on 33's, just dont expect to maintain MPG and performance.

If you dont want a bodylift and your set on running 33x11.5 you may want to