TTORA Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
2001 tacoma, 3rz, manual 4x4, locked, 4.88s
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Figure it was time to join some of these forums. I’ve been browsing and researching for the last 6 months since picking up my tacoma from an old family friend. At first it started with me just wanting to daily it but it is hard to keep things alone with any vehicle.

Everything is going into a 2001 Toyota Tacoma 4x4, Manual trans, j-shift t-case, 3rz. Odo reas 149xxx miles!

I started taking the cab and bed off to clean the frame which was surprisingly rust free and took the truck down to every piece I could. The frame was coated in por15 along with every other suspension component. Cross members were pulled out and all new hardware installed once put back together. If a bolt was rusted or fought me. I made it easy and cut it off or broke it off to just

Automotive tire Bumper Asphalt Road surface Automotive exterior

Slowly I moved the to interior. Gutted it and deeply cleaned every inch then took the seat covers off and gave them a few cycles in the washer and shampooed the carpet then pressure washed it one final time.
Car Vehicle Motor vehicle Automotive design Car seat cover

back to the suspension I decided to go with Sonoran steel lower front control arm bushings, new Toyota Eccentric Bolts paired with a set of Durobump bump stops. The upper control arms are SPC I snagged from a local vendor. New Backing Plates went into my refurbished spindles as well as Toyota lower ball joints, wheel bearings, hubs, and seals. Marlin crawler SS brake lines and clutch lines followed after with a new slave cylinder as well. For brakes I opted for oreillys calipers and rotors
Automotive tire Motor vehicle Automotive lighting Automotive design Vehicle brake
Automotive tire Rim Wheel Automotive design Bicycle part
Automotive lighting Automotive tire Motor vehicle Vehicle Alloy wheel