TTORA Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
776 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, Just wanted to say hi, introduce myself and post a few "newbie" questions.

I have been a LONGGGG time honda lover, built my own 13 second N/A CRX, and currently own a 2001 Civic which i autocross. I have also worked on a few 13 second, cars, a 12 second car, and even an 11 second 1990 Civic.

That being said, sadly i have to ditch my civic's for a truck.

I am currently a Civil engineering student, but in 5 weeks i will graduate and FINALLY start my career (im only 22) as a Junior Project manager for a local Highway Construction company here in Vancouver B.C. Canada.

I worked with them last summer, and a Civic just couldn't cut it on the jobsite
( i got high centered twice, and had to get yanked out by a Excavator).

This has lead me to believe i need a truck:). And Toyota is the only other car maker that i trust as much as Honda. Therefore, i am looking toward purchasing a 01-04? ( sorry not sure the actual year range, i just like the 01-04 body style)

I have a TON of questions, but being a avid member of Honda-tech.com, i understand the frustrations when newbie's come in a post questions that are asked 100000 times a day. So ill try to search as much as possible for my answers before i post a thread, but to start off... Here are my first questions

1) Are 01+ good years for Tacomas? Im looking at the TRD 4x4's mostly with a Ext Cab. Do these models have any common problems? Things to look out for?

2) 2.7L or 3.4L? I already read about 3 threads debating these 2 engines. The only conclusion i could come out with is, both are SUPER reliable. 2.7L is torquey and great on gas, while the 3.4L has more power but a little worse on gas. This is obvious, so I am wondering which would be better. I plan on doing MILLLDDD offroading, mostly just hauling job tools, and maybe the occational small trailor.