TTORA Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
*UPDATE at bottom of post*

Whats up guys?

Growing up my Dad has always had a truck, my whole life, and even though they have been Fords, my current Toyota has made me a Toyota loyalist, but is becoming unstreatable modding it for SCCA events.

I'm new to wheeling though, we never took the trucks off road, so I wanted some advice on weather to go manual or auto.

98% of all the driving I've done has been with manual (25yrs old so I'm not talking about one year haha) so I'm not shy to going that route, but buying the truck is for Daily Driver purposes and I've been wanting to go auto, but I'm wondering if I'll regret it later if I ever do some mild wheeling.

Thanks for any replys, looking forward to making my second vehicle a Toyota, and a truck at that.

B.

·
STITCH - Come and Take it!
9,051 Posts
Welcome to TTORA!
There are good and bad points for going Manual or Auto.
Since you are comfortable with manual, go for it.
Also don't forget to check out the Newbie Tech thread and Search Button to find many answers to your questions.

·
Registered
24 Posts
I have had 5 trucks in my life and all but one were manual. so all ill ever buy is a manual, but thats just what i like. welcome to the team

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the replys guys.

Yeah I always figured myself a manual guy, especially with sporty cars I think its a no brainer, but I've always seen trucks as an Auto type vehicle.

I guess if I don't find one I can't turn down while overseas, I can test drive some and get a feel for it when I get home.

Seeing that there isn't a overwelming reason to go manual I'm kinda leaning towards Auto for the DD of it, but thanks all for your imputs.

Use the search botton check. I come from the IS.net boards, pretty negative there, so I try to avoid "useless" posts and use the search, though I'm always tempted to take the shortcut and just ask haha.