TTORA Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,479 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am going to pull a small pop-up trailer, and use 87 octane gas. Do you think the 91 octane to pull the trailer will make any difference in power? (not just throwing $$ away??) Thx.. :)

·
Registered
661 Posts
Most likely will not make any difference since the computer controls the way the engine performs. I am no expert on this and there is prolly lots of info on octane and performance if you search for it. :2cents:

·
Registered
1,479 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I understand what you mean. But the higher octane rating should create a "more complete burn" which "usually" means more power. But I've had trucks that just get worse mileage, and waisted my $. I wasn't towing anything either. This is just a quick question for advise. Thanks in advance..

·
Registered
661 Posts
I pull a large pop-up with my 2.7 and I use regular gas with no problems. Somebody else may have a different opinion.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Your engine is designed to operate on 87-88 octane fuel. Running 91 or above will only affect the thickness of your wallet.

A fuel's octane rating relates to it's resistance to ignition. Higher octane fuels are more difficult to ignite; they do offer a more complete, slower burn.

High compression engines, or engines with high combustion chamber temperatures require high octane fuels to prevent detonation (pinging, spark knock).

Running high octane fuel in an engine not designed for it will actually net lower fuel economy and a decrease in power output.

Hope this helps,

Dan-

·
Banned
966 Posts
Radio Flyer said:
Your engine is designed to operate on 87-88 octane fuel. Running 91 or above will only affect the thickness of your wallet.

A fuel's octane rating relates to it's resistance to ignition. Higher octane fuels are more difficult to ignite; they do offer a more complete, slower burn.