TTORA Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2,509 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:p Ok, i have done a lot of research on the drop bracket lifts like the fabtech 6" and stuff. Then someone reccomeded i go with a 3" coil over and then 3" leafs in the back. Then, go with a 2-3 inch body and have less money in the project. I know nothing about coilovers...besides its a lift. I understand how the fabtech drop bracket lift works with the spindles and stuff...i just dont understand how a shock lifts the who truck 3". Also, i understand on the truck i am getting (2001-2004 body style) that coilovers go up front and then the AAL's lift the rear. PLEASE EXPLAIN THE WAY JUST A 3" COILOVER RAISES THE WHOLE FRONT END!

I am a complete noob when it comes to actually gettin my hands greecy! I have almost all the tools imagineable...as dad is a gear head. Now, i do that that with the fact in mind that he doesnt wanna help me with any of my projects for my taco. He has the money to have someone else do it for him. :mad: So with that being said, could i do the coil overs and AAL's myself?

·
Registered
1,336 Posts
The new coilover is approx 3" longer than the stock coilovers. If you go look at the front suspension of the truck, it should all make sense. The coilover is fixed to the truck frame at the top, and the bottem is connected to the wheel. When you put the new coilover in, it essentially pushed the wheel 3" lower than it was before. Im not sure thats clear to anyone but myself, but I hope its a start..

·
Registered
2,659 Posts
jessevic said:
The new coilover is approx 3" longer than the stock coilovers. If you go look at the front suspension of the truck, it should all make sense. The coilover is fixed to the truck frame at the top, and the bottem is connected to the wheel. When you put the new coilover in, it essentially pushed the wheel 3" lower than it was before. Im not sure thats clear to anyone but myself, but I hope its a start..
Yer explaining it right...