TTORA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is a bit of a safety question. I'm a newbie so this might be just common sence to some of you?
I have 02 tacoma 130K on it. I've beat the heck out of this poor truck using it as a Daily Commuter and Farm truck. The truck still runs and looks good. So I want to keep it going.

I noticed last weekend that I have a considerable lean in the rear. I took a close look over the weekend and all I can think is that I have messed up the springs on the driver side. It's about 1 inch lower on the driver side unloaded. I don't see a "Visable" crack or anything but they are considerably flatter than the passanger side.

SO, after reading that this is a common problem I'm going to update the springs to the Wheeler HDs (I read better for hauling than others.)

My problem is my budget I can only afford to do the rear springs then I'll save over the next few months to get the fronts eventually...some day... Other than having a considerable rake forward would there be any big Saftey issues putting the rear springs on and living with the stock front until I can afford to do them?

This truck is used to haul alot of crazy stuff so rear springs are more important than off-road and/or looks but I don't want it to be unsafe for normal street driving either. I'd appreciate any opinions.

Thanks!

·
Registered
119 Posts
Breadbox,

When I bought my truck a month or so ago the rear leaves were flat and the shocks shot so I've done just what you are considering - replaced the rear with the five leafs and the Bilstein HDs with the intent to do the front with the matching coils at a later date. Well, with some engine troubles I haven't been able to get to it and probably won't for at least another month. The truck has a funny looking stance but other than that the ride is smooth and I don't have any handling problems.

Hope that helps!

·
Registered
119 Posts