TTORA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, I am a newbie here as of today and am in the market for the parts needed to convert my 2001 Tacoma PreRunner 2.7l Auto to a 4WD. I really like the previous gen. Tacos (01-04) and also can't afford a new one and I think a conversion is just what I need so I can keep my truck till it wears out. I am curious if anyone can point me in the right direction to find the parts I need or if anyone by chance has any of them or knows someone who does that has done a SAS or something.

1) T-case
2) Tranny mount
3) Front driveshaft
4) Front diff.
5) Front CV joints/axles
6) Front spindles and hubs, at least I think
7) console piece and shifter
8) I am hoping I don't have to swap trannies, i want to leave that alone.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Chris

·
Veteran Newbie
600 Posts
Well from what I found it is most of the time cheaper and a whole hell of a lot easier to just trade it for a 4x4 than doing the swap.

·
Registered
0 Posts
toyotadude04 said:
Hey all, I am a newbie here as of today and am in the market for the parts needed to convert my 2001 Tacoma PreRunner 2.7l Auto to a 4WD. I really like the previous gen. Tacos (01-04) and also can't afford a new one and I think a conversion is just what I need so I can keep my truck till it wears out. I am curious if anyone can point me in the right direction to find the parts I need or if anyone by chance has any of them or knows someone who does that has done a SAS or something.

1) T-case
2) Tranny mount
3) Front driveshaft
4) Front diff.
5) Front CV joints/axles

Thanks in advance,

Chris

Search feature is your friend...

Drabnor is the man you want to hear from...

http://www.tacomaterritory.com/forum/showthread.php?t=2976

·
Master "Yota"
431 Posts