TTORA Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It's me again, the know nothing offroad fanatic. I've looked into converting my truck to 4 wheel drive and know what parts I need to do so. However, I have no mechanical experience with any vehicle other than oil changes and tune ups. I don't feel comfortable gutting my daily driver and only vehicle for the slight chance that I will do this job right. So what is a fair price for a shop to do the installation. The truck is and 02 double cab prerunner TRD. I'm not talking about a straight axle swap, but a mere 4x4 conversion. From what you guys have posted, I understand that if I only use 2002 4x4 parts that everything will bolt right in. If this is true, install should not be extremely pricey and it may even be possible for me to do it. Let me know what you guys think.
-Matt

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the suggestion. I worked at a Toyota dealership for 2 years in the inventory department sitting next to the sales managers. They explained all the financial aspects of trading in a vehicle. At this point, if I traded my truck in I would lose thousands. So that's not an option.
-Matt

·
Registered
89 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I'm confused. Did either of you two buy your trucks with a loan? Because unless I paid cash for the truck I would have to take a loan from the bank. In that case the shortest loan is I think 3 years(with good credit). So instead of paying my truck off, I pay another 2 years of payments with interest on the loan. Meaning I just paid a shit load more money than I would have by just keeping my truck. And according to most of the people who have converted, it's about 1500-2000. Plus I've had my truck since it was new. It's been well maintained and stayed out of the snow. I don't want to buy someone else's problem.
-Matt

·
Registered
230 Posts