TTORA Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey yall, I wanted to turn my stock 4Runner into a trail rig with some 33's and a 4-5 in lift. But I was told that I would probably need to regear it so I dont put any extra strain on my drivetrain. I have 4.10 gears right now and I was wondering how expensive this was to do. Im new to 4 wheeling but im desperate and anxious to learn. I dont plan on doing anything till I find out what I should do with gearing this thing. Does gearing the truck just involve front and rear diff? or does it involve changing the transfer case as well? Is this something that I can do? Thank for all yalls help...

Andy
Cornelius, NC

·
Registered
15,034 Posts
Yeah, you really want 4.88's with 33's.

If it's truly going to be a trail only rig (or you don't mind it being a DOG on the road), you could regear the transfer case if you have a 4cyl.
http://www.marlincrawler.com/htm/transfercase/gears.htm

If you're going to regear the diffs, you should DEFINITELY install lockers at the same time (the labor is pretty much the same, so you only pay once instead of twice). I did ARB air lockers front and rear and 4.88's for about $2200, but that's the most expensive locker setup - other ways are cheaper and will work just fine for a trail rig in NC.

Might be a good idea to stop in at Carolina Rock Shop in Charlotte (South Blvd) and talk over your goals with them and make a plan. I suggest armor (sliders and skids) first, tires when the ones you have are worn out. You can fit 33x10.50 with NO lift - so save that money and put it towards gears/lockers which will do WAY more for you on the trail than lift ever will!

·
Registered
200 Posts