TTORA Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
843 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First things first. I'm kinda new to fabrication although I've done a few things here and there. I recently found out that a buddy of mine has a tig welder....and another has a mig. There's a metal fab shop to help me with cutting the gussets and their prices are reasonable so I'm willing to take a stab at this project. Before I go and totally fark things up I wanted to bounce the design off of you guys.

I've been looking at builds for a bit and I'm trying to keep things as simple as possible. I am also still learning how to work with Sketchup so I wasn't able to draw in the shackles like I wanted to or really do the rocker protection either. All of the plate steel is 1/4" and after thinking about it I will bolt the bumper to the frame. I figured a bumper that slides onto the frame with a box design would be easier to bolt up and help a little out with strength. I'm guessing the bumper alone will weigh over 100lbs....if not closer to 200lbs. This I'm not sure of because I've never messed with 1/4" steel. I braced the right side of the bumper because I plan to toss a tire carrier on it.

I know this thing looks complex but my buddy said it'd take him a couple of days but he could put it together with me. I'm not sure whether I should tig it or mig it though. I know both would be plenty strong from what I've read...but like I said I'm new at this and I'm wanting to learn more so I can do this myself eventually. Comments and tips will be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
3,205 Posts
I'm no fabricator but I do construction. Have you thought about tying in that side protection to the frame on the front part of the round tube. It seems like it is cantilevered out there. Connect the end of the tube to the rectangular area that is to bolted to the frame rail.