TTORA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
821 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Might need some help to recover a buddies cherokee that he drove off the road while we were up killing pumpkins today. The recovery itself shouldn't be too super difficult, but we don't have the right equipment. It needs to be pulled up on to the road from the side of the vehicle (I think, I'm no recovery expert), and there are no convenient anchors on the uphill side. If someone has a deadman (or a used boat anchor:rolleyes:) and a winch with snatch block, I think that could do the trick. The nearest 90 degree tree is like 150 ft uphill, and the other even remotely close ones are too much of an angle.

We're located just outside of Idaho Springs, the vehicle is only about 10min away from there. Right now we're looking at rebar for anchorage and a cum-a-long. Free beer for anyone who can help make this happen a little easier.

·
Registered
15,034 Posts
When are you going to try?

I would rather anchor several vehicles together than try the buried rebar trick. Worst case, the vehicles will slide slowly allowing you to observe and correct the situation, where the rebar could get pulled out and suddenly you have a disastrous situation.

·
Registered
821 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
ASAP, but I think we'll try tomorrow and then have a few more people available Fri. But as far as I know none of us have a winch.

I'd rather run 180 ft of line between the closest tree, or use multiple snatch blocks, than use rebar and a cum along. I was just illustrating our complete lack of appropriate gear (or in this case, driving ability). And having multiple vehicles as an anchor is a great idea. Not that in this situation there would be a whole lot of correcting available. I'll try to post a few pics up here soon. You can all laugh- I did.

·
20,355 Posts
I am not free until saturday, after noon but if you still need help then i am in.

·
Registered
821 Posts
Discussion Starter #7