TTORA Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright, I wouldn't normally ask how to do something like this but I can't find my repair manual and I have never done a U-joint before. I have the front driveshaft off right now. It's a 97 4x4. It's the U-joint at the Front diff not the transfer case side if it makes a different. I can see the the u joint is trashed so how do I take this apart? Just put in vase and hammer away or is there a method? Thanks....Pics would be nice.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
1,039 Posts
MarzzTaco said:
Alright, I wouldn't normally ask how to do something like this but I can't find my repair manual and I have never done a U-joint before. I have the front driveshaft off right now. It's a 97 4x4. It's the U-joint at the Front diff not the transfer case side if it makes a different. I can see the the u joint is trashed so how do I take this apart? Just put in vase and hammer away or is there a method? Thanks....Pics would be nice.

Thanks in advance.
I have only replace my rear u-joint, but I am sure they are very similar. Before you begin hammering away, you need to remove the 4 clips that hold the u-joint in. They are located un the underside of the yoke. If you clean it up really good you will be able to see the. I hammered them out with a screwdriver. Then you will be able to hammer the u-joint out.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Dont use a hammer man, it will only lead to major frustration in the end. Go to Autozone and get a ball joint press - use that. It is so much easier. Plus you could possibly bend the ears or yoke if you use a hammer. Just my idea -
Rob

·
Registered
1,039 Posts
98Taco2 said:
Dont use a hammer man, it will only lead to major frustration in the end. Go to Autozone and get a ball joint press - use that. It is so much easier. Plus you could possibly bend the ears or yoke if you use a hammer. Just my idea -
Rob