TTORA Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
467 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Here is the thread where I will be keeping track of changes and events for 2002 Toyota Tacoma. Name is Richard, I am a college student at NewMexico Tech. I have had a few trucks and vehicles growing up but this one I can say is officially all my own. Spent several months searching for a Manual 3.4L V6 tacoma with TRD option. Was unable to find a TRD in my price range and stumbled across this Tacoma in Texas. Great choice in Toyota and this one with just over 90K still a baby. Purchased in February of 08.

The day I bought it the truck came with a 3"spacer up front and a procomp short aal with procomp es3000 shocks. Sitting on Remington 305/70/16 MT.

Drove the truck like this for a while and started looking into front bumpers. Went with the ARB front bumper.

To Increase perfomance a bit, I installed a HPS ram air intake and Gibson Cat back exhaust. Helped the motor breath and free up a few HPs.

Christmas Time: New Tires and Front Lift
After several off road trips stock front springs began to sag drastically. Got OME 883 coils and HD Bils around Christmas 08. Was simple install just rented a spring compressor and got them on the new shocks. Also New tires, Tire rub was begging to be a problem. MT on stock rims were rubbing uca on compression. So found a good deal on some Wheelers type B. Also got some new BFG AT KO/s 295/75/16. Tire rub issue mostly went away. :)

After all installed:

So you could finally say I caught the itch, and my skid plate was showing. So me and my buddy decided to make one. Came out pretty good for us just winging it at the schools shop. Made from 3/16 plate steel. Reinforced on the back with small ribs.

South Baldy New Mexico Peak.

Well with more clearance better armor I was able to get new places. Found traction was serious problem after getting stuck with open diffs. As you can see in pics 34" tire completely burried in this nasty clay/silt/mud mixture.