TTORA Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I picked up my 07 4x4 access cab trd 6 spd 2 weeks ago and have a few questions. I have 440 miles on it and im only getting 13.9 mpg and im babying it. 70% around town, 30% highway. This is my first new vehicle, so is it going to get better as it breaks in?
Any ideas on how to strap some dirtbikes in this thing, there arent any tie down points on the front of the bed.
Whats the deal with the loud motor(valve tick, whinning noises). Are they all this loud? The motor in my 97 taco v6 with 155k miles sounds quieter.
Why dont the RPM,s drop when i shift...really annoying. I have been driving manuals for 8 years and i still cant drive this thing smooth after 2 weeks.
I hope i didnt buy the only toyota lemon ever made

·
Administrator
18,217 Posts
I can only help you out on the MPG question. I've seen multiple posts about this issue. Everybody says they get crappy gas mileage on the first tank, then it goes up to near the sticker EPA rating after the 2nd or 3rd tank. Its just part of breaking in the various parts of the truck and the ECU calibrating / adjusting for conditions.

·
Registered
98 Posts
14mpg seems awful low, don't know what to think about that? hope it gets better... Assuming you topped it off at fill-up the next fillup will tell actual mpgs.... (mine came with a full tank from the dealer, but not really full)
search for d-rings on this or other forums, many have mounted d-rings same as in rear. but foward under the bed bolts....
they do tick, there was a tsb adressing the tick,(they replaced the exhaust manifolds) more than likely your new truck has the newer version manifolds.
rpm's don't drop due to the combination of emissions and drive by wire. i'm not sure if removing the secondary air filter(which many have done) or installing aftermarket cai will increase throttle responce?