TTORA Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
2004 tacoma 3.4L. I am wanting to know what kind of axle I should purchase to do a sas on my truck. Have no idea cause I'm a douchebag noob. Any help would be awesome!:cool:

·
Registered
1,898 Posts
My opinion is this...

First off, you want something that's drivers side drop. With that being said, I went with a D44 out of an 87 heep wagoneer. 2 years later, I wish I had gone with a Dana 60. The 44 is just too skinny for my liking. The truck is unstable on sidehills, and I think the added width would be better.

I was trying to keep the tires inside the body for legal reasons as I was planning on daily driving this rig. That is now out the window, and I trailer to the trails, so that's no longer an issue.

·
Registered
358 Posts
could go with a full width 44 from a 76-79 ford bronco or f150. a D60 isnt necessary for everyone. what size tires do you plan on running? suspension set up? where will you be wheelin? there are a lot of deciding factors that should go into an axle. im no expert, but you should be 100% sure on your set up before cutting off your ifs.

·
Going John Galt
31,839 Posts
2004 tacoma 3.4L. I am wanting to know what kind of axle I should purchase to do a sas on my truck. Have no idea cause I'm a douchebag noob. Any help would be awesome!:cool:
figure out what you want to do with the truck...keep it street-worthy or a trailer queen?
what size tires?
what type of wheeling?

start with reading all the articles and builds in the SAS folder; then get back to us ;)

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
it would be for 100% wheelin', however I would have to drive it to the trails. So I would like to someday run 37s on it, but 35s for now would be fine.

·
Registered
1,676 Posts
If i was to do it again and start over i would have gone with a D60 up front, or if the money was there a 60-9.