TTORA Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm going to give Seafoam a try, but I'm not an expert on engine anatomy...where exactly is the the brake booster line?

Can some one describe what it looks like and where I can locate it, or post a pic of it?

Thanks,
'Dave

·
Registered
175 Posts
the brake booster is the round (black) 12"diam thing attached to the firewall directly in front of the steering wheel inside the engine compartment. THere is a line coming out of it on the left side as you look from the front of the vehicle on the that runs to the throttle body(follow the intake tube to where it meets the engine , it is aluminum) you'll see a bunch of hoses attached there.

I can't get more detailed than that cause I have a 4cyl but the location should be similar

Here is general picture (scroll down in the thread) look at the top right of picture the black thing is brake booster ( kind of hard to see)http://www.customtacos.com/ubbthreads/showflat.php?Cat=&Number=469389&page=1&view=collapsed&sb=5&o=186&fpart=1

·
Registered
175 Posts
try this
here

top right brake booster. the gold thing is where the hose gets disconnected...the other end ends up somewhere on intake manifold

·
Registered
1,057 Posts
I actually just did the seafoam thing today. GOt a can. Wish I got 2, one for the gas tank, but yeah.

On the can it says 1/3 pink for the vacuum system (2/3 cup...duh) mixed 50/50 with gas for efi. So I mixed it and popped the PCV valve. Put some vise-grips on the hose and it was just cracked enough to suck in some of the mix. But be VERY careful not to add too much, it'll kill it then you have to get it started back up again which can be a hassle. I mean, add like at most of 1tbsp at a time every several seconds. My right arm was gettin pretty damn tired. But I let it sit and started it. Smoked a little, then drove it for a min and it was smokin a lot! Smoke went down after about 10 min.