TTORA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
310 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK...No flaming please. I am still a newbie to the offroad world but am learning really really fast with the FL chaper. I have meet with them and done some nice wheeling.

Anyways,
We going up a steep hill on the trail and you need acceleration to reach the top do you shift it into 2nd while climbing the hill...I feel that I either over rev my engine or loose power shifting...Just a 4x4 beginer question.

If this does not make sense just let me know and I will try to ask in a different way.

·
truck ~n~ tow
10,917 Posts
There is alot of variables that go into this... traction, engine power, gear ratio Vs tire size, Low Range/High Range, 4X/2X... and many others...

I would think if you need speed that you would be in second gear as you ascend the hill and then down shift as you run out of steam and approach the top of the climb...

I wouldn't up shift at the top of the hill as you would more then likely bog down as 2nd gear seems a little tall on these Tacoma...

But as a general rule... You usually start at the highest gear possible at the base of a climb and downshift as you go up to keep the rpms at a sufficient range... Now if you can't get a run at it... then you just have to do first all the way up... and hope that traction affords you smooth sailing... Over reving the motor will not help nor will spinning the tires... Over reving will cause the limiter to kick in and you will lose momentum and spinning tires (with wild abandon) simply eats rubber prematurely and does not assit in forward progress... Exceptions to this rule may be when mud or snow cover the trail and the tires need to spin a little to clean the tread (keyword here... a little... just enough to clear the tread)... Besides spinning tires eats up the trail and should be avoided whenever possible...

Hope that helps yer understanding...

·
Registered
310 Posts
Discussion Starter #3