TTORA Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4,770 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So this is my first year with one. Nothing special it's an old craftsman 3/20. I took it out and went over the driveway and it really doesn't do all that hot. I'm wondering if it's the way it works or it's time to mod it.

The bottom is plastic and it doesn't make contact with the driveway. Is it supposed to? My issue is it leaves about a 1/2inch of snow on the ground with a pattern from the blades. They have a rubber thing that I assume hits the ground and helps to pull it along. I'm thinking I should take a piece of flat bar and attach it to the bottom where it looks like it once rubber the ground. What do you think?

The other issue is the chute. I honestly think it would work better then it does if it just blew the snow straight in your face. It just kinda throws it all over. Gotta figure out why that's going on.

I found if I pick up on the rear of it then it pulls along and the chute works better but leaves a thicker layer on the driveway. Like I said I have never had one so I'm not sure what is supposed to touch the ground and what's not.

Anyone care to tell me more about how this needs to work?

·
Registered
4,793 Posts
its powder.... but yeah the blades should come pretty close to touching the pavement....

·
Registered
4,770 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I don have a snow shovel. figured with the blower I wouldn't need one but I am lookin to get one for the front porch. We have a big driveway and the wind sucks out here so I'm going to need both but if I have the snow blower it might as well work tho

·
Registered
1,912 Posts
It should make contact with the driveway and get 98% of the snow off the cement. Probably needs new rubber blades. In this powder snow it may throw the snow mostly everywhere with wetter snow it should shoot it more at the people you aim it. :p