TTORA Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So i'm new to desert type suspensions. Tired of crawlin over rocks. I sold my jeep and bought a 99 TRD Supercharged taco. It is sitting on 33's has a 3 inch body lift and 1.5 inch lift attained by some sort of front coilover and upgraded mount on the top where the spring/shocks connect.(i'm not real mechanic type) Also has some rear shackle lift. Anyway i wana go faster. Problem is i live in the rocky mountains so most of the shops specialize in rock crawlin. Any suggestions on a midrange suspension upgrade. That will let me go faster and smoother but still handle very very light rockcrawlin ?

·
Registered
2,460 Posts
So i'm new to desert type suspensions. Tired of crawlin over rocks. I sold my jeep and bought a 99 TRD Supercharged taco. It is sitting on 33's has a 3 inch body lift and 1.5 inch lift attained by some sort of front coilover and upgraded mount on the top where the spring/shocks connect.(i'm not real mechanic type) Also has some rear shackle lift. Anyway i wana go faster. Problem is i live in the rocky mountains so most of the shops specialize in rock crawlin. Any suggestions on a midrange suspension upgrade. That will let me go faster and smoother but still handle very very light rockcrawlin ?
I would invest in a nice set of coilovers if yours are not too good or are trashed. Next ditch the body lift unless you absolutley want the height. It will be easier in terms of fitting tires to go down to a 32 with coilovers and ditch the body lift. I only say this because a body lift on a truck that goes fast will break causing big problems.

There is a ton of info for a 99 Taco clearing your 33s. Go to the Early Tacoma section on this board and use the search box. There is a ton of info in there. For whatever you cant find post in this Newbie Section and somebody will help you.

·
Registered
4,295 Posts