TTORA Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1,396 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, been searching all day and haven't come up with much. Anyone that has any knowledge they'd link to share or a link I missed, it would be much appreciated.

I've got a '98 Taco, regular cab 4x4, bought it about 3 years ago. The steering has always seemed a bit light. Made a nice loud whine today so I checked the fluid and topped it off. Just curious as to specifically what I should be looking at when I go to check out the steering. What are the signs the rack is going? Obviously I'll check for leaks and clean things up a bit, what else should I be looking for? When hot the fluid was in the middle of the cold mark on the dipstick (really low), is there a chance that there's air in the system?

I've got a lot of basic knowledge, but steering is one thing I haven't had to deal with yet.

Thanks in advance.

-Dan

·
Registered
1,745 Posts
The noise you're describing comes from the power steering pump. Lack of fluid, etc. I had a 96 Runner that made a whining noise all the time... hooked up some testing equipment to the pump and found that it was working at almost double the pressure. My options were to live with it until it grenaded, replace it or rebuild it. Rebuilding is the cheapest way to fix internal issues with the pump. But testing pressure, etc takes specialized equipment