TTORA Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here.

Proud to say that I have had my 95.5 2.7L 4X4 for a little over 2 years and have finally had to come to the web for help.

So the problem is starts when the motor starts. The engine has started missing on a few cylinders here lately for the first 30 seconds of it running. So I figured fouled plug or what not. Unfortunately I went to start it today to drive it to my shop and tear into it and SURPRISE! the infamous white smoke and sweet smell of burning coolant. So I think to myself...Blown HG. But wait..there's more. No milkshake in the oil and I have NEVER noticed my truck getting hot or overheating. It does it pretty much every morning or if the truck sits a while (i.e. 8 hours at work) or just randomly throuout the day on weekends.
It actually did this the first winter I had the truck for about a week - every time i started the truck (especially in the mornings) but without the smoke issue. So I just ruled it out as bad gas and it went away.
But now...adding smoke and burning coolant to the equation is a whole 'nother math class.

Just curious if anyone here has had a similar problem. I did the search and came up with nothing. I'm thinking leaky intake or cracked head...something along those lines. Could be the head gasket, but I personally have not had a head gasket issue do this.

-Justin

·
Registered
114 Posts
The head gasket sealing ring(that's the metal portion that seals around block and head)could be blown,since that is very close to the water jackets,what you get is burning coolant in that cylinder. Because the cylinder pressure is higher, than the pressure in the coolant system.(say 14 p.s.i vs 150 p.s.i).Either way you will find out when you pull the head.:D

·
Administrator
95.5 Tacoma
18,519 Posts
I'll make a guess at a cracked head. Mine cracked in 5 places after 230k miles. Never pulled in any coolant though.

·
Registered
4 Posts