TTORA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

Coming up on 80K on my '02 DC and thinking about making the switch to synthetic motor oil. I've been running Castrol GTX 10W-30 and been happy with it, but also plan on keeping the truck for quite some time.

Thanks for any input,

Beave

·
Registered
40 Posts
I've been running Castrol Syntec in all my vehicles since 1994. It has gone in vehicles from 3000 miles up to 70,000 miles with no problems at all. The high mileage was in a '90 Nissan Hardbody and if you took the valve cover off, the valve train looked brand new right before I sold it. When I got it, there was some varnish on both the cover, and the valvetrain. There were no additives used, so I have to assume that the Syntec and regular changes actually cleaned the motor.

·
Registered
2,130 Posts
I run mobil 1 5w30 and have had excellent results with it. Wish i'd made the switch sooner.

·
Registered
119 Posts
I run Royal Purple. I love it although I cannot tell any difference between it and Mobile 1 (which I used to run as well) :)

·
Registered
77 Posts
Any of the synthetics mentioned will serve you well. Choices are made on who's propaganda you want to believe.

·
Registered
503 Posts
taco23 said:
Amsoil seems to be the choice around these parts along with Mobil 1. Amsoil can't be purchased in any store. I'm sure a dealer like Gadget will chime in on this topic. FWIW, I personally run Mobil 1, it's readily available at auto parts stores.
You can buy Amsoil in GI Joes if you have one near you.

Later,

Chris

·
Registered
40 Posts
tomstin said:
Any of the synthetics mentioned will serve you well. Choices are made on who's propaganda you want to believe.