TTORA Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am thinking about getting a small utility trailer. It'd make life easier for moving motorcycles and riding mower. I'm a total towing newb. My tacoma already has the tow package but I dont have a hitch or tow balls.

Thanks!

·
Registered
766 Posts
Wait if you have the tow package you should have the receiver right? Just go to any store basically to get the ball, in receiver format. Should be Class III.

·
Registered
44 Posts
brosher said:
I am thinking about getting a small utility trailer. It'd make life easier for moving motorcycles and riding mower. I'm a total towing newb. My tacoma already has the tow package but I dont have a hitch or tow balls.

Thanks!
You get a ball to match the trailer. Depending on what size the hitch on the trailer is, you will get a different ball size. Before you buy the trailer ask whoever youre buying from what size ball you need. Then go down to your local shop and pick one up.

·
Registered
606 Posts
rickosuave1987 said:
You get a ball to match the trailer. Depending on what size the hitch on the trailer is, you will get a different ball size. Before you buy the trailer ask whoever youre buying from what size ball you need. Then go down to your local shop and pick one up.
Or, just buy one of those quick change deals if you got the cash. Never know when you'll need to borrow someone elses trailer.

·
Bear's Chauffeur
2,240 Posts
I have got a reciever that has a 2in ball on one side and an 1 7/8in on the other and that will get most all your trailers. As most little trailers have the 1 7/8 and most others have a 2in hope that helps.

·
Registered
449 Posts
2" balls are by far the most common. It makes sense to know what the trailer requires first but if you have to guess it's probably 2". Everything uhaul rents is 2". As for the drop, the depends on the trailer too. Probably a 2 1/2" drop is a good guess.