TTORA Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm going to be getting an 05+ 4cyl prerunner and I have to trailer things occasionally. Its never anything massive by any means. What do you guys think about using a manual? I've been racing dirtbikes for 10 years so I'm competent with a manual once I get used to the feel of the clutch. One thing in particular that concerns me is pulling my boat out of the water. It won't be pulling a boat over 1000# for a long time since I'll be in college shortly and won't be able to afford a good full sized boat for a long time(hopefully by the time I can afford a v6).

So my question is simple, how is towing with a manual? Any comments, tips and advice are welcome. Thanks

·
Registered
2,509 Posts
i havent ever had a problem with it...most people on the site adore the MT

·
Registered
1,349 Posts
If you can drive a stick I wouldn't let it worry you. I pull a 15' bass boat, and a 17' carolina skiff with my truck all the time and it is not a problem. Some of the ramps down here suck. Covered in slime and very steep. Use the e-brake and 4Lo and you won't have a problem, and your clutch will last a lot longer

·
Registered
2,790 Posts
My 99 Taco is a MT and ive towed my 19' bowrider a good bit. Once you get the feel for the clutch it really is nothing. Just some quick feet and a hand on the ebrake. Or if you're really worried about it just stick it in 4lo and :driving: hit the gas. You shouldnt have anything to worry about. Lately though i throw my 16' Jon boat in the bed of the truck... reverse and hit the brakes to get it out...WEEEEEEE

·
Registered
1,657 Posts
Use the e-brake and 4Lo and you won't have a problem, and your clutch will last a lot longer
I think he would be getting a prerunner... so no 4lo for him.

·
Premium Member
12,213 Posts
I tow my 18' ski boat with my v6 Taco all the time. It's a MT.