TTORA Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
349 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here, been reading through the forums extensivly, just want to make sure I understand every thing.

4x4... simply means the abilty to put power to all 4 wheels?
Trd...is a locking Rear Dif "from what I have read, this is a very good thing"
LSD... Locks the rear dif, but not completly

In some of the threads about reg cabs it was comented that they donot have the Trd option, If the reg cab is with out a locking rear dif, what good is it, what can that 4x4 reg cab do with the TRD option.
This does not make scense to me, why not just have a Locking rear diff?

Could some one please explain the differences???

Btw, Doing the SAS will give you a locking Front Diff

Given the amount of biking I do, I know that having power to the Front wheel would be great. Correct me if I am wrong, doesnt the power already go to the front?

·
Premium Member
3,071 Posts
Unless you have a reg cab like my 97' V-6. It was before the "TRD" package was introduced, but it was ordered new with a locking rear diff..The same as used in 98' TRD package ext cabs..

·
Not really here...
3,013 Posts
John Doe said:
(1) 4x4... simply means the abilty to put power to all 4 wheels?
(2) Trd...is a locking Rear Dif "from what I have read, this is a very good thing"
(3) LSD... Locks the rear dif, but not completly
(4) If the reg cab is with out a locking rear dif, what good is it,
(5) what can that 4x4 reg cab do with the TRD option.
(6) This does not make scense to me, why not just have a Locking rear diff?
(7)Could some one please explain the differences???
(8) Btw, Doing the SAS will give you a locking Front Diff
(9) Correct me if I am wrong, doesnt the power already go to the front?

1. Right...sorta. It has the ability to put power to all 4, but may not be doing so if one wheel does not have traction (for example, if one wheel is one ice, or in the air, etc.)