TTORA Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
218 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have recently installed my 5" Tuff Country kit and thought I'd share a bit. First off, it was a total pain in the ass to install since most of it didn't line-up well. It took me about 3.5 days to install, although I've never done one before. That said, I'm happy I did it and the "beefiness" of the parts seems acceptable. I have already installed Downey 1.5" shackles in back and relocated the exhaust above the spring. I plan on buying some 3" Alcan (most-likely) springs in a couple of months when the wallet recovers from this recent expense to replace the lift blocks (so the rear will lower about 1" after the springs). Additionally, I will likely buy some extended brake lines for the front since the stock ones get awefully tight at full-droop. Even further down the road I will likely buy some after-market coil-overs and modify the TC coil-over bracket to be about 2" shorter so I can run the coil-overs at the "normal" 2" setting. I ended up with 305/70R16 Dick Cepek Mud Countrys on American Racing Chamber with Teflon wheels (4.5" backspacing). There is almost NO space between the spindle and tire, so I will be installing 1.25" spacers for that.

That novel said, here's some pics! :D

·
Registered
717 Posts
congrats, it looks good!

·
Registered
2,146 Posts
looks great, the TC kit is pretty nice. One word of advice, stay away from the spacers...trust me, they are just bad news.

·
Registered
2,544 Posts
Yeah big spacers are no good.. If you need a little clearance get .25" spacers, and then get the lugnuts that have a .25" extension on the threads, you get a hair more clearance and dont loose any thread purchase. I have to run this set on my winter tires to get my HD chains to clear the upper arm...

·
Registered
1,657 Posts
another nice project with the TC.

I really like that kit. Your truck looks great.

·
Registered
218 Posts
Discussion Starter #7