TTORA Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the CO forum and wanted to see if anybody was familiar with the URD crank pulley, and whether or not the claims of increased throttle response and HP as a result of reduced rotational mass are valid. It sounds good...but then part of me wants to think that there's a reason Toyota put a 10lb pulley on the crankshaft vs. something lighter (this being the V-6 on my '98 Taco)

Any insight on what the tradeoffs might be as far as switching to a lighter pulley? Any compromises in durability/reliability?

The issue driving me to consider this is that my crankshaft pulley/harmonic balancer has a pretty noticeable wobble....not terrible, but something that I want to have fixed. Here's the URD link:

http://www.urdusa.com/product_info.php?products_id=1230100021

Thanks for any feedback/opinions.

·
Registered
4,793 Posts
im pretty sure the stock pulley is a larger dia than the urd pulley anyways. less rotational weight is easier on the supercharger though...

·
Registered
836 Posts
Um no. The URD crankshaft pulley is a direct replacement (same diameter)...at least for the 3.4. I don't think that using this pulley would give significant results unless you've already got gobs of other goodies like S/C and fuel upgrades and you are trying to pinch every little bit of potential out of your engine. Maybe combine the lighter crankshaft pulley with an e-fan to eak out a little better MPG and throttle response, but your PEAK HP and TQ #'s shouldn't change at all with this pulley.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #4