TTORA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1,712 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I wasn't sure whether to post this in the noob section, or in the fabrication section. :rolleyes: LOL here it is.

Is it possible to cut the bracket off of a shock and move the spring perch up, carefully weld it back on?

I had a dream last night, and woke up with this idea. I am mulling it over in my mind, but not sure it would be "worth" the prep work, hastle or time, especially if it will jack up the shock.

I thought I might have read an article a while back where a Lexus SUV was prepped for the Rubicon and the spring perches on the strut were moved up for a little more height, but not sure?

Any input or is this just another one of my plain ole dumb idea ideas. :D

Wally

·
Registered
162 Posts
the shock will explode in your face :D
Yea I am no rocket scientist but pressurized gas vessel + heat = explosion.

·
Registered
741 Posts
only a little one...

you could break it down to just the shock body and im sure it would be fine to weld on.... i don't know how thin the metal is though.

Austin

·
Registered
1,712 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
The thickness of the metal isn't as large of a concern as warping the body to the point that the shock won't work properly or blowing something up.

I have a TIG welder, it runs a nice bead and has a steady arc down to about 25 amps if I do my part.

IF, its possible, I would use SS312 or 309 and TIG welding the spring perch further up the shock, maybe 5/8s an inch?

Wally

·
Administrator
95.5 Tacoma
18,421 Posts
the shock will explode in your face :D
Actually that is very true. For the nitrogen charged shocks, it is entirely possible to have the shock explode on you. There were some pictures that floated around the internet a few years ago of one such occurance. :eek:

·
Registered
156 Posts
ive had to grind the perches off before - just take your time. and realize it could go crazy! GO SLOW! lol

·
Registered
3,394 Posts