TTORA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
1,343 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm using my friends Lincoln 100 flux welder right now for a bed rack that I'm making. The wire tends to get stop feeding more than it works. When I hit the trigger nothing happens. The wire might come out 1 out of 20 trigger pulls so I have to sit there pulling the trigger over and over until the wire feeds itself and then begin welding. The welder is on but the spool/wire is just not feeding itself through the handle.

I just installed a new spool of wire and changed the tip.

Any suggestions?

·
Registered
3,900 Posts
is the tension set decent at the spool and the tensioner ? take the tip out and try to feed it

·
Registered
1,343 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Clean the tip after every weld. Right size tip for right size wire? When you changed the wire did you tension it inside the machine properly?

As you know I'm new to welding, how do I tension the wire? I originally started with the previous spool and that ran out so I went and bought another spool.

·
Registered
3,900 Posts
well the wingnut that u use to put the new wire on cant be to tight, just tight enough so it doesnt unspool the wire on its own. and where the wire feeds through the roller that makes wire come out has to be tensioned enough to grip the wire, but not cranked down to where its trying to smash it. play with it and ull see

·
Registered
1,343 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
well the wingnut that u use to put the new wire on cant be to tight, just tight enough so it doesnt unspool the wire on its own. and where the wire feeds through the roller that makes wire come out has to be tensioned enough to grip the wire, but not cranked down to where its trying to smash it. play with it and ull see
Thanks. I'm going to starting welding again in a little while and I'll play with it. I might have it too loose.

·
Registered
3,900 Posts