TTORA Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys i have realized that in order to truly build some bad ass stuff i need to learn CAD. I will be teaching myself and i have ZERO experience, i am looking for a program that is easy to use and has lots of good how to style help available online. I want to be able to built common stuff bumper sliders etc, i also want to be able to perform stress analysis to ensure my parts will hold. Does anyone know which program might be good for me? Budget is pretty slim and i have really looked into solid-works but it seems expensive. Goggle sketchup seems common but i don't think its really what i am looking for.

·
Registered
258 Posts
I run autodesk inventor as my job. I'm hopping to buy the light version for personal use this summer (same use as you pretty much, sliders, bumpers, other hobbies. May make a DBA out of it). I learned the basics in one of my classes in college and gone from there. I don't know about stress analysis with the program. Last I checked I can get the LT version for $500-600. I don't know what solid works runs but these are the common 3d programs I'm aware of.

When u say you have ZERO CAD experience do u mean no 2d also? If so best advice I have is find a trade school and take some classes. I've been running just inventor for 3 years now and 2d before that through college for a couple years. I'm still constantly learning. It's great stuff to know just realize that it takes time to learn how to use it. If it was easy everybody would be doing it. Just my :2cents:

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have some 2D experience but probably not enough. I am in college right now so i was hoping to find a way to learn it on my free time.

·
Registered
258 Posts