TTORA Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am wondering what the spring diameter is on the front coil springs. I know the Taco PreRunner sport is .649 and the v6 trd is .690 but what is the fj, im curious. Can anyone with a micrometer take a measurement and let me know??? Thanks guys.

·
Registered
79 Posts
Sorry man! It's raining outside. I'll try to find out for ya when I get a chance.

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks I am curious. I think the FJ front end sits about the same as the Taco but I know theres a bit more weight on there. So was curious for a cheap lift.

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Still no one????

·
Going John Galt
31,843 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
HA! Well they cant give me anything anyways. For the most part, parts guys are idiots. If its not in the computer it or they cant find it, its just not available or never been made.

·
Registered
79 Posts
I'm not a expert on this subject, but this is what I learned.

I called over to RSM Toyota and talked to Mike Horner, (5X Baja 1000 champion, General Tire Toyota Tundra-class 8 truck.) he didn't know but "thought" that the same equipment is used on the TRD and FJC. I then looked on line and found nothing in the way of spring Dia. measurements. However, I did learn that springs are rated in "ft.lb/inc" Example: OME 885 springs are 590ft.lb./inc, and the 886 are 660 ft.lb./inc. Just depends on the application.
I'm going with a Camburg suspension, so I called them, and they didn't know the stock FJ rating. But I learned that Camburg springs are wound completely different then Toyota's, OME or ICON's, and have their own ft.lb/inc ratings. Makes sense to me. (That is why spacers are not the way to go for lifts.)

I know this story didn't answer your question. Got my mind off work for awhile! What was your question?

:rolleyes: :2cents:

·
Registered
162 Posts