TTORA Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie looking to buy a used Taco in Maine and my price point gives me a choice of buying on either side of the divider for the most recent generation, just wondering which side people think is better.

In this part of the country, a trip to the corner store can be an off-road experience about half the year, depending on the weather, but what I really want the truck for is to have for camping and fishing in the summer (I spend some time on private roads owned by the paper companys - lots of washouts and a few non-roads, but not quite the same kind of off-road experience that people find on the BLM lands in southern CA, etc). I also hope to pull a small boat or pop-up camper, but probably nothing so big that the 4 cylinder can't handle it.

I gather from reading this forum that the TRD 05 rear ends are something to watch out for, and I've got mixed feelings about the newer hubs, though all I've ever used in the past are the manual kind. My biggest fear is rust and I haven't heard anyone say that either generation is better than the other in that regard. Curious to know if people think there are other considerations I should take into account.

Thanks.

·
Registered
883 Posts
this should be in offtopic or something. it has been covered many times also. search or you'll get flamed by our friendly community here. lol...

·
Registered
2,364 Posts
Like my 05. As for rust, watch out for the tailgate. Take the inside plastic off and spray rust proofing in the bottom seam. Mine wheels very nicely and has good on road manners and more interior space. I would also rust proof the bottom of the fenderwells and doors since you live in Maine. Cheap insurance IMO. The choice is yours.

·
Registered
1,590 Posts