TTORA Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to wiring in my own lights, but have done a few smaller ones, and now think I'm ready to try some off road lights. I have looked around at other posts and this is what I have come up with so far:

Tap into my high beam wire (maybe somewhere near the headlights would be easiest?) and add in a relay. Wire power to the relay (with a fuse before hand) ground the relay, and then send power from the relay to the light, plus ground the light there as well. In theory this should come on when my high beams come on and send power to my new light.

I'd also like to bypass this all with a separate switch. So I can turn it on and off even if the trucks off to set up camp of something. So if I reuse the wires I have before the relay and split them it would look something like this. Battery and fused wire splits into two, and the second half which isn't going to the relay goes to a switch in the cab (which should have a ground on it right?) and then to my light, which again will have its own ground.

Does this sound like it might work? I figure if I can ground it at the lights, and switch and relay it will have twice as much chance to not become ungrounded. Or is that unnecessary? Like I say I'm new to this so any input is appreciated.

·
truck ~n~ tow
10,917 Posts
I tapped in on the parking lights/ign. (at the oem fuse box)
this way I can be independent of the headlights...
(because I choose to turn muh headlights off)
when I use muh forward aux. lights.

Muh rock lights are tapped into constant
because I sometimes use those independent of the other lighting
and don't want those controlled by the ign.

jm :2cents:

·
Registered
366 Posts
I tapped in on the parking lights/ign. (at the oem fuse box)
this way I can be independent of the headlights...
(because I choose to turn muh headlights off)
when I use muh forward aux. lights.