TTORA Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,
Brand new here. Used to own an 02 Tacoma 4cyl. ext. cab 4x4. That was back in 02-03. I am in the market for a used Tacoma but have a budget constraint of 10k.

What I'm seeing on autotrader are alot of 99-00 Tacos with a V6 (which I want) 4x4 ext. cab etc. basically what I used to have minus a few years plus one V6.

I need this thing to be reliable but with 99-00s coming in at the 120,000 mile mark or slightly above do I need to be worried or is it just getting broken in by that time. KBB said an 00 should have about 78,000 miles on it but all i'm finding are higher mileage ones. I'm not a mechanic but I figured alot of you guys know your stuff when it comes to this.

If I were to buy one of these 99-00 models with 120,000 + miles on it, how much life can I expect out of it. I should say I don't plan on doing any heavy 4x4ing like some of you. I am however planning on moving soon to where there is snow, so the 4x4 is a must.

Thanks for reading.
wyogrunt

·
Registered
98 Posts
Honestly I am more concerned with the rest of the vehicle when it comes to this. If the seat is beat, like the seats real worn(just driver) most likely a commuter of some sort. I look to see how the rest of it was maintained...if it looks clean most likely the owner took time to keep it up. Ask if the timing belt has been changed ask for receipts. I have seen these go over 200k with original timing belt but its recomended to be changed at 90k. If its been changed, again likely they have kept it well maintained.